No more humdrum mittens!

I like mitten knitting. Maybe it’s my Latvian heritage. I dunno. Anyhow, I got this great idea to subscribe to the no more humdrum mittens swap to start the new year off right. They asked me to post a bit o info, so here it is:

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn?

My mom taught me when I was a kid. Didn’t pick it up again until ~6 years ago, but I remember a lot of her tips.

Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

Advanced.

What are your favorite colors? Any you dislike?

My favorites change seasonally, but deep red (blue-red) is an all-time favorite. Also love dark orange, brown, black, white. I don’t wear much in the pastel family.

Do you like Latvian type patterns? If so, what are your favorite patterns?

Yes! I’m part Latvian. I enjoy colorful patterns from all the Latvian regions including Upitis’ lovely book. Nancy Bush’s book on folk knitting in Estonia also has beautiful work. And I enjoy pretty much anything from Selbuvotter! Selbu mittens like these, for example, are just beautiful.

Do you desire mittens for yourself, your “special someone else” or your child?

I almost never knit for myself, so having something knitted for me would be nice. 🙂

What is the measurement from your wrist to the tip of your longest finger? 7.5″

What is the circumference of your hand at it’s widest point? 9.25″

What other things do you enjoy knitting?

Sweaters have always been a favorite, as well as hats. I’ve never understood the sock thing (why knit something you’ll cover with shoes?).

What sort of needles do you enjoy working with?

Addi turbo needles are my favorite. I use magic loops and try to use them for about everything.

What’s one project you’ve not yet tried but are dying to make?

I have quite a queue over at Ravelry, LOL. But Jeanie is just calling, I’ve never done a lace shawl before and I looove cables. I’d also love to knit something by Elsebeth Lavold…

What’s one yarn you’ve not yet tried but are dying to work with?

Sea silk.

What other hobbies do you have? Do you spin? Sew? Garden? Cook?

I love working in my garden. My garden is bird- and butterfly-friendly, and I try to use native plants whenever possible. I also bicycle when the weather is reasonable.

Besides yarn, do you collect anything?

Dust bunnies. Actually, I enjoy all kinds of music.

What kind of goodies do you enjoy? Sweets? Salty? Anything you hate or are allergic to?

Tea, sour candies, ice cream/gelatto/sorbet. No allergies. I don’t care for mint.

Do you have any kids? Pets?

I have two young kids, one grown kid, and three cats.

What is your favorite part of Winter?

Holidays and snow slow people down (including me), there are breaks from school and vacation time, so there’s more time to just “hang out” together.

What is your least favorite part of Winter?

I don’t like extremely cold temperatures. I love hot weather!

Leave a Reply

